WV.gov
Agency Header

Selective Service System Registration

We are providing this information to inform affected applicants of the registration requirement and to assist agencies in verifying applicant Selective Service status. 

West Virginia State law (WV Code § 15-1F, Section 10) prescribes limits on a man’s educational and State employment opportunities unless he is in compliance with the Military Service Act of the US Code.

Each State agency is responsible for verifying that any newly-hired or reinstated male who is between the ages of 18 through 25, and eligible for employment, has registered with the Selective Service System. Federal law requires all men to register with the Selective Service System within 30 days of reaching 18 years of age. Late registrations are accepted; however, a man cannot register once he reaches age 26. Verification is not required of applicants who are 26 years of age or older.

Applicants are not required to submit verification when applying through the Division of Personnel. All verifications are handled by the employing agency prior to hire. 

Selective Service Links 

For applicants:

Should you have any questions about this requirement, please refer to the Selective Service System website (www.sss.gov/default.htm).  

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2014 State of West Virginia